Keep the Peace

“Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff… and it’s all small stuff” by Richard Carlson, Ph.D.

I found this book on Amazon during a burst of realization that I hadn’t been reading. NADA. When I read the little blurb that said it would show you “how to keep from letting the little things in life drive you crazy” – THIS WAS THE ONE.

As a notorious overthinker that lets the little things bother me (without fail), I needed this wisdom in my life. Every time I open this book, my way of thinking shifts, so it felt selfish of me not to share.

“Choose Being Kind Over Being Right”

After I finished reading this chapter, it was like my radar for seeing the telltale signs of I-have-to-be-right syndrome upgraded by tenfold.

I’d been bothered by this a lot lately: Why do people get so worked up about proving others wrong? There’s just no way that actively correcting people leaves them feeling good. Is the rush from feeling better than the other person really worth it ALL the time?

I get that all wanna be on the right side of information but sometimes we need to sit TF down.

Remember when your friend misstated a well-known fact or got some insignificant detail of a story wrong? Remember how adamant you were about pointing out their verbal mistake? NOW remember how you left that friend feeling a little dumber after you interrupted them. Yeah you fluffed up your ego a bit but did you feel 100% great? Nah. Well, I hope NAH.

Dr. Carlson writes: “…our ego mistakenly believes that if we point out how someone else is wrong, we must be right, and therefore we will feel better.” BUT in reality, both sides feel like crap, maybe even a little worse.

As a highly non-confrontational person, I’ve always wondered WHY THE FUSS. They’ll figure out they were wrong in their own time and they’ll only secretly feel dumb without harboring any ill feelings toward you.

Dr. Carlson ain’t saying you should be a wimp or keep quiet about what you believe in, just choose your battles wisely, my guy.

If you INSIST on being right, you’re screwing with YOUR INNER PEACE. And I don’t know about you, but I don’t wanna put my inner peace in more jeopardy than it has to be.

So let’s be good, let the friend keep talking, and enjoy the mfkin story. Good vibes only.

Leave a comment